Below you will find the production credits, technical specifications, and acknowledgements for the film.

Photo credit: Shah Zaman Baloch

Original Title: K2 and the Invisible Footmen
Languages of the original work: Urdu, Balti, English, Portuguese


Country of Production: Pakistan/United States/Brazil
Date of Production: April 2015
Original Format: HDCAM
Running Time: 54:13
Number of Tapes/Discs: 1
Black and White or Color: Color
Screen Format: 16:9; DVD: SD 480p23.98; Quicktime file: HD 1080p23.98
Sound: Stereo
Genre: Documentary
Themes: Pakistan, K2, mountain climbing, porters, mountaineering, human rights


In K2 AND THE INVISIBLE FOOTMEN, filmmaker iara lee and her team chronicle the lives of the indigenous porters who make possible the ascent of K2, the second highest mountain in the world. Amid breathtaking scenery, the film depicts the courage and everyday sacrifices of these porters. Through their interactions with international climbers, the local mountaineers provide a fresh look into the cultures and national traditions of Pakistan, a country typically portrayed in the foreign media as merely a land of conflict and sectarian strife.


Director/Producer: iara lee
Cinematography/Editing: Jawad Sharif
Additional Cinematography:
Adrian Hayes
Al Hancock
Azmat Abbasi
Daniele Nardi
iara lee
Michele Cucchi
Shah Zaman Baloch
Sohail Ahmed Baig
Tunç Fındık
Production Manager: Amelia White
Production Team
Arthur Phillips
Dan Schenk
Eda Pepi
Gillian Maxwell
Maral Satari
Mark Engler
Matt Dalton
Owen Davis
Associate Producer: Mirza Ali
Assistant Editor
Ibrahim Ajnabi
Abid Bin Nazar
Graphics: Adeel Malik
Color Grading: Jawad Sharif
Gaffer: Asmat Bashir
Mahdyar Aghajani
Music Score and Re-Recording Mixer: Mahdyar Aghajani


SPECIAL THANKS to all porters, trekkers, climbers, high altitude porters, Nepali sherpas and organizations that made this film possible.
Support for the Pakistani-led “K2 2014 – 60 Years Later” expedition was provided in the framework of research activities led by EvK2CNR Association for the development of Central Karakorum National Park.
8000ers.com and Eberhard Jurgalski
Abdul Karim
Abdullah Bai
Adrian Hayes
Agostino da Polenza
Ainara Pagola
Al Hancock
Alan Arnette
Alexandros Aravidis
Ali Durani
Ali Masa
Ali Muhammad
Ali Raza
Alpine Club Pakistan/Mohsin Raza Arifa
Altitude Pakistan/Raheel Adnan
Amin Ullah Baig
Ana Lucia Martinelli
Arshad Karim
Ashraf Aman
Boyan Petrov
Chhang Dawa Sherpa
Chris Burke
Daniele Nardi
David Hopkins
Dawa Yangzum Sherpa
Dorchi Wangdak Thikeppa
Fabrice Imparato
Fazl Ali
Ghulam Mehdi
Ghulam Mohammad
Ghulam Murtaza
Ghulam & Khaja Rasool
Gul Muhammad
Gustavo Fioratti
Haji Abdin
Hamid Hussain
Hassan Jan
Hassan Sadpara
Hussain Haider
Imran Junaidi
IPPG/Paul Charlton & Zahid Rajoo
Jahangeer Ali
Jamling Bhote
Jeff Marcello
Jess Macdonald
Jim Curran
Jussara Lee
Karakorum Expeditions
Lakpa Sherpa
Lien Choong Luen
Mahmoud Khan
Majeed Karim
Maqsood Kayani
Matteo Zanga
Maurizio Gallo
Maya Sherpa
Mehboob Ali
Michele Cucchi
Mick Conefrey
Mingma Dorchi Sherpa
Mingma Gyalje Sherpa
Mingma Sherpa
Mohamed Hasan
Mohammad Khan
Muhammad Hassan
Muhammad Sadiq
Muhammad Taqi
Muharram Irmak
Munir Ahmed
Muqeem Baig
Murtaza Ali
Museo Nazionale della Montagna
Mustapa Aurshie
Nazir Ahmed
Nazir Sabir
Nicholas Fraser
Nikolaus Gruber
Nisar Hussain
Obaiid Ur Rehman Abbasi
Paolo Aralla
Pasang Lhamu Sherpa
Peak Promotion
Pemba Sherpa
Pietro Coerezza
Rajab Shah
Rehmat Ullah Baig
Reza Shahlaee
Riccardo Colabattista
Rozi Ali
Saad Mohamed
Sergei Krasikov
Seven Summit Treks
Shahban Ali
Shaheen Baig
Simone Origone
Stefania Mondini
Tahir Zeeshan
Tamara Lunger
Tashi Lakpa Sherpa
Thiago Barbanti
Tunç Findik
William Lee
Zeeshan Shafa
Zdravko Dejanovic
Zravko Dejanovic
Alberto Valtellina
Anam Gill
Ata Khan
Awni Farhat
Beatrice Cassina
Carmen Ng
Cecilia Iris Baldo
Cinthia Carvajal
Daniela Magliano
Danyal Adam Khan
Didar Ali
Eleonora Guadagno
Eve Dearborne-Suitonu
Faizan Ali
Hamood Arham
Ilyas Hussain
Imran Aslam Wyne
Joy Becker
Keith Johnson
Kimberly Partmann Lauko
Kinza Aamer
Liaqat Ali Baltee
Louise Thompson
Magdalena Kodura
Maleeha Sami
Maryam El Hasnoui
Maurizio del Bufalo
Muhammad Iqbal
Nisar Hussain
Noor Pamiri Muhammad
Shane Cassidy
Shayan Gill
Taimoor Hussain
Taslim Khan
Vesta Goodarz
Zaeem Zia


Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from Youtube
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google